This News was Posted on: 2004-07-26 14:25:03




    You are reading: Kantipur Online >> Others




ESA honors Everest summiteer






KATHMANDU, July 26 - Everest Summiteers’ Association (ESA) today presented Nabang Sherpa with the Everest Award 2004 in recognition of his achievement as the only handicapped person to have ascended Mount Everest at a function organized here today. Minister of Culture, Civil Aviation and Tourism (MoCCAT) Dip Kumar Upadhaya handed Sherpa a letter of appreciation and Lob Kumar Devkota, Secretary of the MoCCAT, gave a gold chain on behalf of the ESA. Sherpa was also awarded Rs 10,000.