Expedition Update

June 8th
Nawang Sherpa Wins 2004 EVEREST AWARD!

The prestigious Everest Award has been granted this year to our team member Nawang Sherpa.

The award is given annually by the Everest Summiteers Association (ESA) to honor Everest Summiteers who set unique records. This has been a very successful climbing season on Mount Everest with many unique ascents including the extremely impressive Russian "Diretissima" Route up the North Face of Everest. The award commemorates the first ascent of Mount Everest by Sir Edmund Hillary and Tenzing Norgay Sherpa in 1953.

General Secretary of the ESA Diwas Pokhrel made the announcement last week, saying Nawang would be receiving the award as the first below the knee (trans-tibial) amputee to climb to the summit of Mount Everest.

Last week Nepal celebrated the 51st anniversary of the first ascent to Mount Everest. Celebrations included the annual Tenzing-Hillary marathon (which starts at Everest base camp and ends at Namche Bazaar) and a book and photo exhibition at the International Mountaineering Museum in Pokhara (in the Annapurna region).

Nawang was presented with the award, which includes a cash prize of 10,000 Rupees, a Gold Medal, and a Certificate of Appreciation.


home | contacts | about the Sherpa culture | about Tom Halvorson | about McMillan Associates

© McMillan Associates 2004-6. All rights reserved.


Nawang on the summit of Mount Everest
May 16, 2004









View continued press coverage of the
expedition o
n Google News